Friday poetry prompt

This week I have been trying new and different things (NOT fun things, things like generators, roof rakes and snowblowers)  This morning I was thinking about trying new and different things poetically.  Here are a few examples of different poetry forms:

1422623145557

HAIKU – I think these are the easiest little poems to write, when you just want to “scratch the surface”, 5 syllables on one line, 7 syllables on one line, 5 syllables on the last line 5-7-5. Haikus force you to really think about what you want to describe and the words you want to use

Here’s a haiku I wrote a couple days ago about the snowblower:

It is wintertime (5)

The snowblower roars & growls (7)

I can see my breath (5)

TANKA – Tanka is a classic form of Japanese poetry related to the haiku with five unrhymed lines of five, seven, five, seven, and seven syllables. (5, 7, 5, 7, 7)

Here’s an example of tanka that I wrote:

The scissors got me (5)

The pink bandage is dirty (7)

Only one hand now (5)

My thumb hurts when I forget (7)

and jam it in my pocket (7)

FREE VERSE – Free Verse is an irregular form of poetry in which the content free of traditional rules of versification, (freedom from fixed meter or rhyme).

In moving from line to line, the poet’s main consideration is where to insert line breaks. Some ways of doing this include breaking the line where there is a natural pause or at a point of suspense for the reader.

My poems are free verse sometimes

Example #3:
Moon Shadows

It wasn't the flickering
of candlelight 
that seduced me
into the silence
of night
where darkness
existed only
where the moon shadows 
dared to settle.
It was the fluttering
of wetness, 
a butterfly's wing
upon my tongue
that made my body
ache and chill
at the very same 
instant,
awakening the need,
my need,
for more.

Copyright © 2005 Marie Summers

We_Can_Do_It!

POETRY PROMPT – try writing a poem in a different form than you’re used to

http://www.shadowpoetry.com/resources/wip/types.html – Shadow Poetry has more poetry forms for you to try

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry Prompts

Leave a Reply

