Friday Poetry Prompt

My family and I rent a house that belonged to a 104 year old woman.  She was sharp right up until the very end.  I brought my 8 year old girl to her first funeral (she clearly DID NOT like looking at the body in the casket)

Poetry Prompt: Write a poem about death 

here’s the only poem I have right now, I have an idea to write about living in a dead woman’s house

For Mom

by Valeri Beers

I

miss you.

There’s

no forwarding address

to send

you

a Mother’s Day card.

No

phone number.

No

answering machine.

I

have many

presents

for you

but

I

can only

leave them

on the ground.

1 Comment

Filed under Poetry Prompts

One response to “Friday Poetry Prompt

  1. absolutely beautiful…. so touching.. i can picture you puting preents on teh ground and pondering many wonderful thoughts about your mom….
    i am sure she is so proud of the woman you are
    hugs
    ritamarie recine

Leave a Reply

